Euro Bar

My recent visit to Euro was not my first. Known for it’s great seafood and amazing meat, I have been to Euro multiple times. Part of the Nourish Group owned by Richard Siglety, Brian Fitzgerald and Simon Gault, it is nicely located on Shed 22 on Princes Wharf in Viaduct and offers a lovely view of the harbour.

Our visit to Euro Bar was on a beautiful Saturday night and were seated inside the restaurant rather than outside as their outdoor tables were already fully booked. But it didn’t really matter as the modern interior was just as pleasing. For starters, we ordered the mushroom soup and a Euro classic S.G’s crab and prawn cooked in a delicious jalapeno creme fraiche sauce. I remember having the S.G’s crab and prawn during my first Taste of Auckland experience and I have been hooked ever since. The mushroom soup was pretty good but I would have preferred a dollop of cheese to finish the dish off.

For mains, my partner ordered the Euro classic rotisserie chicken served with mashed potato and a peanut slaw. The chicken was delectable and extremely moist which he quickly devoured. However, this can not be said about the peanut slaw as he found it rather bitter. I, on the other hand, ordered the S.G’s meat choice from the ageing room which is a lovely portion of sirloin steak served with a horseradish sauce. The meat was tender and perfectly cooked. The horseradish sauce was a little disappointing as I was expecting something similar to the amazing horseradish sauce served at JSH.

For desserts, we decided to only order one and we picked the mango floating island. It is described as a Dilmah rose and vanilla tea surprise on the menu and what was served was indeed a surprise. The main component had a foam-like texture and when eaten with the meringue, dehydrated strawberries and tart mango sauce, the outcome was flavourful.

Euro is becoming one of my favourite restaurants that I don’t think I will ever get tired of. A must try for anyone that loves fine dining and make sure you try the S.G’s crab and prawn.

Date: Saturday 29th January 2011 | Location: Shed 22 – Princes Wharf, Auckland CBD | Food: Contemporary Fine Dining

One thought on “Euro Bar

Your two cents gladly accepted here: