My Eating Adventure: Part Four Hong Kong

My stay in Hong Kong compared to my usual trips back was short and sweet and instead of staying for a month, I only stayed a total of seven days. As this is not my first time in this hectic concrete jungle, my sister and I decided to ditch the usual tourist attractions and made our trip all about shopping and eating!

Passion by Gerard Dubois (74-80 Johnston Road, Wan Chai): I love pastries and we were lucky to have this highly rated cafe so close to our hotel. They offer a large selection of desserts such as assorted pastries, macarons and tarts as well as savory items like salads, freshly baked bread, panini and quiche. We really enjoyed the Mille Feuille with vanilla and salted caramel cream and the Three Brothers French pastry with Valrohna chocolate and orange mousse. I had these sweet treats with a double espresso!

St Betty (IFC, 1 Harbour View Street, Central): After all the Asian cuisines during my trip overseas, I was craving for a decent brunch! Not knowing where to go, I left my friend to decide on where to eat. St Betty is inside the huge IFC mall in Central, making it an ideal place to rest and dine before hitting the mall. My poached egg with sautéed asparagus and pancetta was just what I needed and the truffle gnocchi was divine. I love the rustic look of the restaurant along with the windows which brings in plenty of natural light during the day. The price however, is on the expensive side, more than what I would pay in Auckland.

Hui Lau Shan (various locations): I made it a personal goal to stop for a mango dessert as often as I could and this dessert franchise is where I accomplished this goal! I love mango and it is hard to find good fresh mango in Auckland. The desserts in Hui Lau Shan are exceptional with mango being the key ingredient. Mango with glass jelly, small glutinous balls, jelly, sago or made into mochi, I’ve tried every mango dessert on the menu and it was worth the weight gain!

Cova Ristorante and Cafe (Harbour City, 17 Canton Road, Tsim Sha Tsui): Shopping can be hard work and all the walking warrants for a break! So after doing some extensive shopping at Harbour City, we stopped at Cova for high tea. With an assortment of mini savory items like sandwiches, croissants and bagettes as well as pasteries and tarts, it’s a good high tea set.

Nahm (Elements, 1 Austin Road West, TST): You would think that after spending two weeks in South East Asia, I would have been sick of Thai/Vietnamese. My friend recommended Nahm and we had a splendid meal! The menu is made up of the two different cuisines and we opted for a healthy spicy beef salad, fresh vegetable spring rolls and a creamy duck curry (not pictured).

Hong Kong is such an amazing city and a foodie heaven! The options are endless and there is something for everyone whether you have a big or small budget. We merely scratched the surface and the restaurants included in this post are some of the best from this trip!

Your two cents gladly accepted here:

