Auckland: DeBretts Kitchen

This is my second time dining at DeBretts Kitchen, the in-house restaurant of the boutique Hotel De Brett on High Street. The first time was two years ago, so I’m glad that Zomato was kind enough to send me a $50 dining voucher and I decided to share the love and eat out with a friend. We went during Auckland Restaurant Month where the restaurant was offering a special promotional menu, but we opted to order from the a la carte instead

For entrée, my friend and I both wanted to start with fish. She enjoyed her kahawai salad with lettuce, bacon, green beans, caper berries and croutons while I happily polished off my seared kingfish served over a bed of vegetable barigoule. The fish was moist and had a great flaky texture.

For mains, my dining companion went with the market fish while I opted for a juicy steak. The Mahy farm beef fillet was over cooked to medium while I ordered rare, but because the beef was of such high quality, it still had a soft texture that melts in your mouth. This was paired with smoked brisket, leeks, spinach puree and potato foam. I’m not a fan of foam. I would have preferred a small side of potato puree rather than a thick tasteless foam. It was the only thing left on my plate when I finished.

Although there were certain aspects about my meal that I would have changed, the overall dining experience was very enjoyable. Big applause to our waiter for the night. He was courteous, helpful and just delightful, and the same can be said about the other servers who smiled their way through a busy night.

DeBretts Kitchen | Location: 2 High Street, Auckland CBD

One thought on “Auckland: DeBretts Kitchen

Your two cents gladly accepted here:

