Wellington: Fidel’s Cafe

On my last day in Wellington, my sister and I popped out for a late lunch after spending the day at her place. Serving home-style food and smooth Havana coffee, Cuban themed Fidel’s cafe is one of the most popular spots in town.

Fidel’s cafe is licensed and offers a full lunch and dinner menu. Being in the mood for eggs, my sister and I ordered from their lunch menu. I devoured my dish of crispy potatoes, black beans, bacon and two fried eggs with ease. The eggs, cooked sunny side, had runny yolks that added another layer of flavour and richness to the other ingredients. My sister’s eggs Benedict – two perfectly poached eggs with bacon over English muffins, covered in buttery hollandaise – was accompanied by a side of potato hash that was crispy and golden on the outside, tender and moist on the inside.

We had a great meal at Fidel’s. They have two separate dining rooms and an outdoor courtyard, which was nearly full on that Sunday afternoon. Be prepared to wait for your meals and coffee, but it is worth it!

Date: Sunday 28 July, 2013 | Location: 234 Cuba Street, Wellington | Food: Cafe

