Two Fifteen – Revisited

Nearly a month after my return from holiday, I had finally satisfied my steak craving with a delicious meal at Two Fifteen. My friend and I were both in need for a nice dinner out after a hectic week at work so we decided to have a girls night out. It has been more than two years since my last dinner at this bistro and it’s fair to say that it is still maintaining the excellent standard of fine food and attentive service.

Our meal started with a small serving of house bread with a side of smoked butter and a phenomenal plate of house dry cured meats that included air dried smoked beef and pork, dried chorizo and slices of landjager. The soft creamy butter had a nice barbecue aroma and glided onto the bread with ease. The different types of charcuterie included a variety of different textures and flavours; my favourite was the thin slices of delicate air dried beef. I also quickly devoured the tangy pickled onions which gave my tastebuds a big kick, it was utterly divine.

image

For our mains, I ordered the prime eye fillet – cooked medium rare – served with a sizeable portion of smoked potato gratin, sautéed mushrooms and beetroot. This steak was an excellent example of the amazing beef that is produced in New Zealand. It is tender, juicy and flavoursome; perfectly cooked by the chef and it satisfied all my steak cravings! My friend’s seared snapper served on a bed of prawn and herb risotto was a considerable difference compared to my dried portion of snapper at Marvel Grill. This snapper was moist and soft with a delicate flaky texture. The rich and creamy risotto was cooked al-dente, giving the grains a nice bite.

image

image

As I had to rush back to work after our meal, we did not have time for dessert, which was unfortunate as I’m confident that it would not disappoint, considering how well our starters and mains went. Although it does not appear that the menu has changed much since my last visit, the consistently high standards of the dishes is to be applauded. Two Fifteen, keep up the good work!

Date: Friday 15th February 2013 | Location: 215 Dominion Road, Auckland | Food: Contemporary New Zealand

One thought on “Two Fifteen – Revisited

Your two cents gladly accepted here:

