Urban Turban

I have to admit, I am not the biggest fan when it comes to Indian cuisine, therefore it is important to note that my review on the food served at Urban Turban will not be in-depth.

Urban Turban is located at North Wharf waterfront and was one of the restaurants that opened at the start of the Rugby World Cup last year. They are advertised as a restaurant that serves street food, Bombay-style, which apparently, is different from other cities in India.

For starters, my partner and I ordered the garlic prawns to share and this was served with a side of garlic naan. The prawns were delicious. I liked the generous amount of garlic that was used and when grilled, it brings out a slight sweet taste. A great start to the meal. For mains, we ordered two curries – butter chicken and chicken masala. Each curry was served with a side of white rice, salad and naan. The mains were average. Although the sauce was flavorsome, the chicken inside were slightly tough and dry.

For dessert, we ordered the chocolate samosas served with mango ice cream and the ice cream trio. The  samosas were very disappointing. We were expecting a crispy coating but the pastry shell was tough and hard to chew. The flavours for the ice cream trio – mango, paan, and rose – were different and the textures were very creamy and smooth. The mango was delicious, however, the other two didn’t really do it for me.

The overall experience at Urban Turban was decent. I did not have much expectation as I very seldom eat Indian cuisine, but because we had made use of our grabone vouchers, the meal was a bargain so I can’t complain. I can’t say that this dining experience had changed my views on Indian cuisine but I was glad that we tried something different.

Date: Saturday 7th January, 2012 | Location: 39 Jellicoe Street, Auckland | Food: Indian

Your two cents gladly accepted here:

