Waitomo: Huhu Cafe

On a recent road trip to Waitomo – after trying black water rafting for the first time – my friends and I pigged out at Huhu Cafe. For those that venture to Waitomo on a regular basis, you would know where I’m talking about. Listed in Cuisine’s Top 150 Restaurant in New Zealand, Huhu can be recognised via the distinctive tower on the main road in Waitomo.

We arrived just after 3pm and were glad that they were still serving lunch. My sister and I ordered the organic beef burger which was served with a side of Huhu chips and salad where as my friend had the warm salmon salad. The beef they use is organic and is a cross between Angus and Galloway. I’m not too sure what that means but this point is repeated in both their menu and website so it must be important. Now, I must make it clear that I was starving when I ate this, so my opinion can be over the top, but this burger was spectacular. The bun was warm and toasted so that the outside is crispy and the inside is soft. An excellent amount of cheese and relish – not too much and not too little. Excellent beef patty, it was flavoursome and perfectly cooked. My sister could not stop raving about their awesome chips which were served hot and crispy with the right amount of seasoning and a side of garlic mayonnaise. I didn’t try my friend’s salad as I was too focused on my burger but she enjoyed her meal. A mixture of cucumber, chargrilled broccoli and salmon with a wasabi mayonnaise dressing. She did comment that the wasabi was slightly too strong for her liking.

The next time I venture to Waitomo, I would surely come back to Huhu Cafe and hopefully try their dinner menu. The atmosphere while overlooking the valley is very relaxing and if I didn’t have to drive back to Auckland, I wouldn’t mind chilling on the balcony with a bottle of wine and a bowl of chips. Bliss!

Date: Sunday 11th December, 2011 | Location: 10 Waitomo Caves Road, Waitomo | Food: Cafe

Your two cents gladly accepted here:

